Hyde Dissertation Research Award for Graduate Students

The Center for Research on Gender and Women offers a competitive award to support social science dissertation research on gender or women’s studies related work. Graduate students may nominate themselves. Students are eligible to reapply.

The Hyde Dissertation Research Award is supported through the generosity of Janet Hyde, who is a Professor of Psychology and Gender & Women’s Studies at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Professor Hyde has made this award possible through royalties from her book Half the Human Experience: The Psychology of Women.

Applications Due: Saturday, February 15, 2025 @ 11:59 pm.

1) Ph.D. students who have been admitted to candidacy in the social sciences. A gender and women’s studies Ph.D. minor is not required but encouraged.
2) Dissertation topic relevant to gender/women’s studies in an area of social science.

Application: Please submit application material via Wisconsin Scholarship Hub (WiSH).

The application should include:

  1. Student’s CV
  2. Dissertation proposal, double spaced, 1,500 – 2,000 words
  3. One page budget and justification
  4. Transcript (unofficial is OK)
  5. One faculty letter of recommendation (to be submitted separately by faculty member)

Selection: Selection will be made on the basis of excellence in academic work by a committee appointed by the Research Committee of the Department of Gender and Women’s Studies.

Award: Maximum award of $1,500 should be used for some aspect of Ph.D research, unless you have student loans.

Contact: Please contact the Administrator of the Center for Research on Gender and Women (CRGW), Lyddia Ruch-Doll, ruchdoll@wisc.edu, or the Director Dr. Christine Garlough, clgarlough@wisc.edu, with any questions.


2024-Caro Cruys
2023-Khrysta Evans
2022-Shahana Munazir
2021-Nona Gronert; Sooji Kim
2020-Morgan Matthews
2019-Kaden Paulson-Smith
2018-Madeleine Pape
2016-Yangsun Hong
2015-Meggan Bilotte
2014-Johanna S. Quinn
2012-Jocelyn Bosley
2011-Jennifer Holland
2010-Nikki Graf
2009-Hae Yeon Choo
2008-Alice Kang