Kaplan Award in LGBTQ+ Studies

This scholarship is intended to encourage students who pursue LGBTQ+ Studies. It is generously provided by David A Kaplan and Glenn A Ostergaard, the Brautigam/Kaplan Foundation.

Applications due: Thursday, February 15, 2024


  1. A UW-Madison undergraduate and
  2. Declared in the LGBTQ+ Studies certificate program.

Application: Please submit application materials via the Wisconsin Scholarship Hub (WiSH).

The application should include the following:

  1. An essay of up to 600 words in which you address (a) what drew you to the LGBTQ+ Studies Certificate, (b) a class or experience within the certificate that has been particularly meaningful, and (c) how you see yourself applying what you are learning from your LGBTQ+ Studies courses. Include in the document your expected graduation date.
  2. A resumé
  3. Complete transcript from UW-Madison (unofficial transcripts accepted)

Award: The scholarship will provide $1,500, which will be awarded by April 15, 2024.

Contact: Please contact the Administrator of the Center for Research on Gender and Women (CRGW), Lyddia Ruch-Doll, ruchdoll@wisc.edu, or the Director Dr. Christine Garlough, clgarlough@wisc.edu, with any questions.


2023 – Forrest Jansen
2022 – Macy Booth; Anthony Cattani; Royalty Higgins; Natalia Iding; Magen Polzin
2021 – Anthony Cattani; Alanna Goldstein; Adrian Lampron; Justin Myrah; M.Rose Sweetnam